Two Lancs Tories joined MPs voting for a fracking moratorium

Two Conservative MPs representing the area of Lancashire where Cuadrilla wants to frack voted in favour of a moratorium this evening.

The list of MPs who voted for a fracking moratorium during the Third Reading debate of the Infrastructure Bill also included 20 Labour members and four other Conservatives. Most SNP and Plaid Cymru MPs supported the moratorium call. 14 of the 57 Lib Dem MPs and six of the 16 members of the Environmental Audit Committee also voted in favour.

The vote was lost by 52 in favour and 308 against. Most Labour MPs abstained.

Party breakdown of those voting for a moratorium

20 Labour

14 Lib Dem

6 Conservative

5 Scottish National Party

2 Social Democratic and Labour Party

2 Plaid Cymru

1 Alliance

1 Green

1 Respect

Lancashire MPs who voted for a moratorium

Conservatives Mark Menzies of Fylde and Eric Ollerenshaw, of Lancaster and Fleetwood, and Labour’s Rosie Cooper for West Lancashire.

Members of the Environmental Audit Committee who voted for a moratorium

Labour’s Joan Walley, Martin Caton, Katy Clark, Mark Lazarowics and Alan Whitehead, the Conservative Zac Goldsmith and the Green Caroline Lucas,

Full list

Diane Abbott, Lab, Hackney North and Stoke Newington

Norman Baker, Lib Dem, Lewes

Annette Brooke, Lib Dem, Mid Dorset and North Poole

Ronnie Campbell, Lab, Blythe Valley

Martin Caton, Lab, Gower

Katy Clark, Lab, North Ayrshire and Arran

Rosie Cooper, Lab, West Lancashire

Jeremy Corbyn, Lab, Islington North

Tracey Crouch, Con, Chatham and Aylesford

Ian Davidson, Lab Coop, Glasgow South West

Mark Durkan, SDLP, Foyle

Jonathan Edwards, Plaid Cymru, Carmarthen East and Dinefwr

Tim Farron, Lib Dem, Westmorland and Lonsdale

Paul Flynn, Lab, Newport West

George Galloway, Respect, Bradford West

Roger Godsiff, Lab, Birmingham, Hall Green

Zac Goldsmith, Con, Richmond Park

Duncan Hames, Lib Dem, Chippenham

Martin Horwood, Lib Dem, Cheltenham

Stewart Hosie, SNP, Dundee East

Mark Hunter, Lib Dem, Cheadle

Julian Huppert, Lib Dem, Cambridge

Helen Jones, Lab, Warrington North

David Lammy, Lab, Tottenham

Marz Lazarowicz, Lab Coop, Edinburgh North and Leith

John Leech, Lib Dem, Manchester, Withington

Stephen Lloyd, Lib Dem, Eastbourne

Elfyn Llwyd, Plaid Cymru, Dwyfor Meirionnydd

Naomi Long, Alliance, Belfast East

Caroline Lucas, Green, Brighton Pavilion

Angus Brendan MacNeil, SNP, Na h-Eileanan an Iar

John Mann, Lab, Bassetlaw

Jason McCartney, Con, Colne Valley

John McDonnell, Lab, Hayes and Harlington

Ian Mearns, Lab, Gateshead

Mark Menzies, Con, Fylde

Graham Morris, Lab, Easington

Greg Mulholland, Lib Dem, Leeds North West

Tessa Munt, Lib Dem, Wells

Eric Ollerenshaw, Con, Lancaster and Fleetwood

Andrew Percy, Con, Brigg and Goole

Margaret Ritchie, SDLP, South Down

Angus Robertson, SNP, Moray

Dennis Skinner, Lab, Bolsover

Mike Thornton, Lib Dem, Eastleigh

Joan Walley, Lab, Stoke-on-Trent North

Mike Weir, SNP, Angus

Eilidh Whiteford, SNP, Banff and Buchan

Alan Whitehead, Lab, Southampton Test

Mark Williams, Lib Dem, Ceredigion

Roger Williams, Lib Dem, Brecon and Radnorshire

Mike Wood, Lab, Batley and Spen

Link to Hansard list (spool down to the end of the page and look for Division No. 139)

[27/1/15 updated to amend link]

8 replies »

Add a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s