MPs fracking vote: who said they voted against?


Douglas Champman 151216MPs have been voting on new rules that would allow fracking under National Parks and other protected areas. We’ve been collecting the names of MPs who said they voted against.

The vote is on the government’s Draft Onshore Hydraulic Fracturing (Protected Areas) Regulations 2015. If approved, they would allow oil and gas companies to drill wells under National Parks, Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty, the Broads and World Heritage Sites at depths of at least 1,200m.

MPs opposed the passing of the draft regulations when they were read out in the Commons on yesterday evening. Under parliamentary rules the vote was deferred until today, when MPs filled in ballot papers between 11.30am and 2pm.

So far there’s no result. But some MPs have been tweeting about the vote. So far, we’ve not found anyone tweeting that they voted in favour.

The following MPs have said they either voted against or intended to. We’ll keep updating the list

Ben Bradshaw, Lab, Exeter

Thomas Brake, Lib Dem, Carshalton and Wallington

Chris Bryant, Lab, Rhondda

Doug Chapman, SNP, Dunfermline and West Fife

Jo Cox, Lab, Batley and Spen

Tim Farron, Lib Dem, Westmorland and Lonsdale

Vicky Foxcroft, Lab, Lewisham Deptford

Roger Godsiff, Lab, Birmingham Hall Green

Kate Green, Lab, Streford and Urmston

Lilian Greenwood, Lab, Nottingham South

Andrew Gwynne, Labour, Denton and Reddish

Helen Hayes, Lab, Dulwich and West Norwood

Sharon Hodgson, Lab, Washington and Sunderland West

George Kerevan, SNP, East Lothian

Stephen Kinnock, Lab, Aberavon

Caroline Lucas, Green, Brighton Pavilion

Rachel Maskell, Lab Coop, York Central

Callum McCaig, SNP, Aberdeen South

Connor McGinn, Lab, St Helens North

Matthew Pennycook, Lab, Greenwich

Tommy Sheppard, SNP, Edinburgh East

Gavin Shuker, Lab Coop, Luton South

Andrew Smith, Lab, Oxford East

Gavin Shuker, Lab, Luton South

Jo Stevens, Lab, Cardiff Central

Alison Thewliss, SNP, Glasgow Central

Mark Williams, Lib Dem, Ceredigion

Sarah Wollaston, Con, Totnes

Full list available 17/12/15. Click here to find out how MPs voted

3 replies »

  1. What’s new? The Chairman of Rathlin Energy UK who holds PEDL licenses in East Yorkshire is also the chairman of Northamptonshire Campaign For The Protection of Rural England and has consistently and successfully campaigned against wind turbines.

Add a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s